The Pretty Reckless Going to Hell

Written by on May 22, 2014 in May 22, 2014, Music Reviews - Comments Off on The Pretty Reckless Going to Hell

The Pretty Reckless

The group was put together about 6 years ago when fronted by the pretty actress Taylor Momsen best known on the television show Gossip Girl. She is serious about her singing and music. 2011 the band release their first album Light Me Up. Their second album Going To Hell”. The album cover is a eye catching photo of her back side. She brings attitude of confidence to the songs. The band is Ben Phillips- Guitar, Mark Damon-Bass and Jamie Perkins- Drums. The band delivers a raw, power sound of twelve songs or fourteen on the deluxe US pressing or the Japanese pressing with a real life, angry and rebellious theme that hit you from the first song. The opening sounds of the album is a simulated sound of a couple walking to a place with, crickets, water moving a siren and you hear the female moaning of pleasure than the song “Follow Me Down” and the title song which is the first single. The songs on the album were written by Taylor and Ben on real world experiences and turmoil.

Of the other songs that are right to the point is “F***ed Up World” and “Why’d You Bring A Shotgun To The Party”. “Heaven Knows” is one of the tracks with a chorus shouting the lyrics with clapping effect with the sound from the 60’s and 70’s. There are two acoustic ballads songs: “Burn” and “Waiting For a Friend”. “Sweet Things” has that horror scene image in your head you remember from a horror movie. ”Absolution” and “House On the Hill are the songs that should have radio play.

The group has good songs on this album here to build on.

Track Listing:

  1. Follow me Down
  2. Going to Hell
  3. Heaven Knows
  4. House on a Hill
  5. Sweet Things
  6. Dear Sister
  7. Absolution
  8. Blame Me
  9. Burn
  10. Why’d You Bring a Shotgun to the Party
  11. Fucked up World
  12. Waiting for a Friend
Label: Razor & Tie