Sky King Release Debut Album

Written by on December 19, 2013 in CD / DVD Releases, December 19, 2013, Music Reviews - Comments Off on Sky King Release Debut Album

December, 2013
Contact: Doug Deutsch Publicity Services

Sky KingSky King Release Debut Album

“Morose Tales From The Left Coast”

“Sky King” are Walter  Morosko /Larry “Fuzzy” Knight/Garth Farkas

Sprouting from the San Fernando Valley of Southern California like SuPrimo medicinal weed from a field of tall grass comes the band, “Sky King,” telling through song their personal tales of the human condition… Living, Loving and Losing!

Morose Tales From The Left Coast contains thirteen original tracks, enhanced by an eight-page booklet and separate lyric sheet for all the songs (tracks listed below). All songs on Morose… are written and sung by tall, lanky, lead guitarist, Walter Morosko, accompanied by another tall, lanky rhythm guitarist and life-long friend, Garth Farkas, both originally from the Mid-Western city and state of Youngstown, Ohio. “I would like people to walk away feeling like they weren’t the only ones that had those emotions,” explains Morosko. “I really want people to connect with the songs and I want to connect with people when Sky King plays (out live) – like we are one big family, that this is really something.”

Sky KingWell-traveled and highly experienced bass player and vocalist, Larry “Fuzzy” Knight, a native of St. Louis, Missouri has been firmly implanted into the concrete and soil of Los Angeles since 1969. Formerly a member of the legendary rock group, “Spirit”, Fuzzy also arranged and produced “Morose Tales From The Left Coast.” Fuzzy’s vast experience and musical history reflects his myriad influences and reads like a who’s who of blues and rock legends that he has worked, toured and/or recorded with: Albert King, Little Milton, Chuck Berry, Ike Turner, Albert Collins, Delaney, Bonnie & Friends, Jefferson Airplane’s Grunt Records, Peter Kaukonen’s “Black Kangaroo,” and, of course “Spirit.” Fuzzy has also been the front-man for one of Los Angeles’ best known Rhythm and Blues Bands over the last 18 years, Blowin’ Smoke. “When Sky King perform in concert we are going to reproduce the album as it was recorded,” says Knight. “The show is going to have to be as good as the music that was created. We’re going to reproduce it with power!”

“Sky King” is accompanied on the CD by its alter ego band comprised of their musician friends, all who are pro recording and touring artists. It’s our pleasure to introduce to you… “Spirits Rebellious” (Lee Thornberg – Trumpet, Valve Trombone; Jimmy “Z” – Saxophones, Flute, Harmonica; John “JT” Thomas – Keyboards; Chris Ross – Drums). Together, they fulfill Walter’s desire to bring his songs or as he describes them, “Morose Tales From The Left Coast,” to life! Disillusionment, heartbreak, frustration, loss and, of course, never-ending hope define years of paying dues in the paradise and often-peculiar world of Southern California. It took many years of playing in Left Coast nightclubs, while having to work the proverbial “9 to 5” day job, just to barely get by. All the while, continually concentrating on turning a musical dream into a musical reality by using their alchemic wiles to accomplish that realization. Sound familiar?

So whether you’re a musician, an artist or a creative everyday person, we believe that you know what we’re talking about… never giving up your dream, another trait of the human condition. We hope you’ll get as much pleasure listening to “Sky King” as we did in creating our music for you.

Track Listing

  1. Poor House
  2. Inside Out
  3. Hollywood
  4. Can’t See Nothing Good
  5. Oxnard/Cahuenga
  6. Blue Skies
  7. Waitin’ For My Baby
  8. Living The Blues
  9. Forever
  10. Get Along Lost Girl
  11. I’m Gone
  12. Late Night Phone Call
  13. Alone