Kenny Rogers & Dolly Parton Star in Video for “you Can’t Make Old Friends”

Written by on September 26, 2013 in CD / DVD Releases, Country Corner, Music and DVD Reviews, Music Reviews, News To Shout About!, September 26, 2013 - Comments Off on Kenny Rogers & Dolly Parton Star in Video for “you Can’t Make Old Friends”

huzb_SKHWhiteLogoKenny Rogers & Dolly PartonSmall_180NEW ALBUM OUT OCTOBER 8th

NASHVILLE, Tenn., September 18, 2013 – You can watch the world premiere of the video for “You Can’t Make Old Friends” here:

Kenny Rogers & Dolly Parton

Rogers and Parton shot the clip, directed by Trey Fanjoy and produced by Trent Hardville, together earlier this year in Nashville, Tennessee.  The song, written by Ryan Hanna King, Caitlyn Smith and Don Schlitz, is the title track from Rogers’ highly anticipated new album, You Can’t Make Old Friends, which will be released by Warner Bros. Records on October 8th.

It was thirty years ago almost to the day when Rogers and Parton released the multiple-chart No. 1 hit, “Islands In The Stream,” which went on to become an instant classic and one of the most successful singles by a duo in history.

“I can’t think of a more perfect song for the two of us to sing together,” Rogers said of “You Can’t Make Old Friends.”  “Out of everyone in the business, Dolly is my best friend, so naturally it has special meaning for the both of us. It was so good to be back in the studio with her.  I’m thrilled to have our relationship documented this way.”

Parton added, “There is just something about our chemistry with each other – our friendship – that people really sense what we really feel.  To do a song that fits so many people, and certainly us, was an honor.  It’s been a wonderful journey, and I’m so glad I’ve been able to walk this road with Kenny.”

The duet “You Can’t Make Old Friends” is available now on iTunes and is being offered as a instant download for those who pre-order the You Can’t Make Old Friends album on iTunes here:

You Can’t Make Old Friends is Rogers’ first country album since the release of Water & Bridges in 2006.  The album showcases a certain familiarity that can be expected from Rogers, along with fresh twists of creativity that see the versatile Grammy Award-winner stretching his artistry into new musical territory.  In addition to the great story songs and love songs Rogers has become well known for, flavors of rock and roll, soul, gospel, southern rock, zydeco, and sounds of the Southwest are embraced in this bold recording.

Rogers will be inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame this fall.  His extraordinary 2013 has included a main-stage performance at Glastonbury Festival to a colossal audience on the grounds and around the UK as it was televised on BBC as well as Through The Years World Tour stops in Morocco, England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, Switzerland, Canada and the U.S.  In addition, a novel Rogers co-wrote with Mike Blakely, What Are The Chances, was released September 3rd and Rogers’ New York Times Best Selling autobiography, Luck Or Something Like It, will be released in paperback on September 27th.  This fall and winter, Rogers’ tour will roll on with additional U.S. and Canadian dates, including the Christmas & Hits Through The Years Tour, his annual holiday performances, in late November and December.

A trailblazing recording artist, vocalist, and entertainer, Rogers has sold more than 120 million records worldwide and recorded more than 65 albums during his illustrious 56 years in show business. Rogers has charted a record within each of the last seven decades and scored a hit single in the past six. He was the first country artist to consistently sell out arenas and quickly became a pop superstar as well – his 28 Billboard Adult Contemporary Top 10’s is fourth-best all time among men, trailing only Elton John, Neil Diamond, and Elvis Presley.  Rogers has recorded 12 No. 1 albums and 24 No. 1 hits – “The Gambler,” “Lady,” “Islands In The Stream (with Dolly Parton),” and “Lucille,” among them. His Greatest Hits album has sold over 24 million copies worldwide to date.  He is the RIAA’s 8th best-selling male artist of all time with one Diamond album, 19 Platinum albums and 31 Gold albums.

Kenny Rogers – You Can’t Make Old Friends – Track Listing
1.     You Can’t Make Old Friends (Duet With Dolly Parton)
2.     All I Need Is One
3.     You Had To Be There
4.     ’Merica
5.     Turn This World Around
6.     Dreams Of The San Joaquin
7.     Don’t Leave Me In The Night Time (Featuring Buckwheat Zydeco)
8.     Look At You
9.     Neon Horses
10.  When You Love Someone
11.  It’s Gonna Be Easy Now