Written by on August 25, 2011 in CD / DVD Releases, News, News To Shout About! - 1 Comment

KAURA to Give Away One New Track From New Full-Length CD/DVD, ‘That Which Defines Us’, Each Week Until Release Date, September 20th, 2011 


California natives KAURA have just announced that they will be giving away one new track cut from their new full-length CD/DVD, That Which Defines Us, each week up until the release date of September 20th. A new track can be downloaded weekly at www.kaura.bandcamp.com, where the new album can also be streamed in its entirety now.

Produced by singer Malcolm Guess, That Which Defines Us is a testament of dedication, taking over two years to record with the assistance of rock luminaries such as Sylvia Massey (Tool, System of a Down, Danzig), Ken Andrews (Failure, A Perfect Circle) and Michael Romanowski (Dredg).  Central to the album’s sound were instruments that the band collected on their travels to India, Thailand, Bali, Cambodia, Laos, and Nepal.

KAURA (pronounced kay-aura) were born from the vision of infusing the aggressive power of hard, melodic rock with the haunting and ethereal sounds of ancient instruments.  “We were really drawn to the sounds of these instruments because they are not traditionally heard in modern rock music,” explains guitarist Ben Rojas. Drummer  Benjamin Jones adds, “We have always strived to create our own unique voice and incorporating these instruments helps us do that and create a really expansive depth of sound.”


The DVD portion of the set includes two music videos directed by drummer Benjamin Jones for the songs ‘Ephemeral Fall’ and ‘Silence Speaks Louder’.  It also features an hour long ‘Making of the Album’, and footage of the band’s adventures collecting instruments during their travels.



1. Inovocation

2. Sera Phi

3. One Becomes Two

4. Ephemeral Fall

5. Solace

6. Silence Speaks Louder

7. Apathy

8. Alarmico Saturn

9. 2C&B

10. If This Were to End

11. Tether’s End

12. A Lament for Change


Comprised of Malcolm Guess (vocals, guitar, and production), Benjamin Jones (drums, hammered dulcimer), Ben Rojas (guitar), and Josh Albright (bass). KAURA have already racked up an impressive list of accomplishments, including invitations from Live Nation to open for national touring acts like Godsmack and Rob Zombie and garnering the praise of Paz Lenchantin (A Perfect Circle, Zwan, Entrance Band) who appeared on their self-titled EP and airplay on Los Angeles’s World Famous KROQ  and Bay Area radio stations such as Live 105 and The Bone.  A recent national tour, culminating in a fiery performance at SXSW, earned their song ‘Now or Never’ a spot in a national advertising campaign for Ford Motors.

Malcolm Guess and Benjamin Jones formed the band initially because of a mutual love of the band KYUSS and their interest in Eastern culture, spirituality, and music. After writing, recording and releasing KAURA’s first self-titled EP, Malcolm and Benjamin   returned to the East to collect more instruments and inspiration, which they used to record ‘That Which Defines Us’.   Upon returning from their travels, Malcolm and Benjamin connected with guitarist Ben Rojas, who immediately fit the vibe of the band, both personally and musically.  Finally, after playing with many bass players during the recording of the album, Joshua Albright became the glue that fit everything together.

“Our connection as individuals goes beyond just the music,” adds Guess. “We all share in the greater vision of using music as a medium for inspiring thought, creativity, and consciousness.”

For more information about KAURA, please visit these sites: